Leftovers or Science Project ???

post121306_meatloaf Do you remember being a kid and asking the famous “What’s for dinner question” and getting the dreaded “Leftovers” response. Well, you may still hear that now, far past your youth, the only difference is that it may not be quite as dreaded. Leftovers are not at all abnormal in the pipe smoking world either. Most smokers I know keep a jar close by into which they place their crumbs and various droppings from their tobacco supply. They are often the remnants of a tin, or maybe the remains of a sample that is just not quite enough to fill a bowl. So they get dumped in the jar and remain until the jar is full and its time to take a dip into the science project. Even blending houses have capitalized on the idea and sell their “floor sweepings” for a deep discount as a leftover blend.

So, I was digging through my tobacco drawer and realized I had a bunch of leftover tobaccos that were just sitting around. These happened to be samples and pouches that I kept telling myself I would get to, but after a suggestion from a friend, I figured, what the hell, its just going to keep sitting in the damn drawer. So, I grabbed a large mason jar, all my little pouches and got to work. I decided however that I would keep track of what I threw in and a rough idea of the amount. Who knows, it could be the best blend in the world. I of course learned lots in Kindergarten so I will share my ingredients:

  • 1 full tin of King Charles Mixture (If you read my review of it, you know why it was a full tin)
  • 1 oz. (roughly) of McClelland #2045 – Oriental Mixture
  • 1 oz. (roughly) of McClelland #2030 – No. 1 Grade Balkan
  • 1 oz. (roughly) of McClelland #5110 – Dark English Full
  • 1/2 oz. (roughly) McClelland #2015 – VA/Per Flake
  • 1/2 oz. (roughly) MacBaren HH Matured Virginia
  • 1/2 – 1 oz. of McClelland #5100 – Red Cake

So, into the bowl it went, and got mixed together until it was well blended. I figured I would try a bowl, just for the hell of it. Well, It was surprisingly good. Now I didn’t hate any of these tobaccos, and a couple of them I really like. Most of them were just bland on their own, lacking something or other that did not make them desirable past the 1/2 oz. or so that I already smoked. It is a full mixture for sure, lots of body to it, but there is a subtle sweetness that pops out because of the couple added Virginias. I can also swear that I can taste just a hint of the Perique from the #2015 as well. Overall, not bad, and I look forward to seeing what will become of it after sitting for a couple weeks or longer. I will be sure to keep you updated.

 

~Justin

www.windjammerpipes.com

One thought on “Leftovers or Science Project ???

  1. Don’t forget to shake out your keyboard. I’m sure there are remnants of tobacco past in amongst those keys.

Leave a Reply

